Sponsored Links
Georgia Stars
Georgia Jackets
Forsyth Grizzlies - Georgia Octane
Cherokee Batting Range
Flush Baseball
Team Insurance
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 NWBA Forums
 General Discussion
 Rule Question

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List
   
Message:

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

   
   

T O P I C    R E V I E W
wv2ga Posted - 03/02/2018 : 08:08:26
First time I had ever seen this happen.

2 strikes, 1 out, with 1st base empty. Batter swings & misses at a ball in the dirt, and rightly so, takes off to first (dropped 3rd strike). Ball bounces up and lands right in the ball pouch of the ump.

What's the correct call?
6   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
bama21 Posted - 03/04/2018 : 17:04:06
A pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base;

Rule 5.06(c)(7) Comment: If a foul tip hits the umpire and is caught by a fielder on the rebound, the ball is "dead" and the batsman cannot be called out. The same shall apply where such foul tip lodges in the umpire's mask or other paraphernalia.

If a third strike (not a foul tip) passes the catcher and hits an umpire, the ball is in play. If such ball rebounds and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batsman is not out on such a catch, but the ball remains in play and the batsman may be retired at first base, or touched with the ball for the out.

If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance one base. If the count on the batter is less than three balls, runners advance one base.
RUSemiPro Posted - 03/02/2018 : 15:14:51
quote:
Originally posted by wv2ga

Everyone watching agreed with all of the above. In this case, the umps determined that, yes, it's a dead ball. But awarded the defensive team with the out as they upheld the strike out and disregarded the dropped third strike part of the play. No real explanation was given.



Umps called it correct, once it becomes a dead ball, runners cannot advance, thus strike 3 and an out. Doesn't matter if it's dead because of that freak play with the ump or if it hit off the batters bat or anything else that is wierd, once it's dead the plays over. Sucks for the batter.
wv2ga Posted - 03/02/2018 : 14:36:21
Everyone watching agreed with all of the above. In this case, the umps determined that, yes, it's a dead ball. But awarded the defensive team with the out as they upheld the strike out and disregarded the dropped third strike part of the play. No real explanation was given.
bama21 Posted - 03/02/2018 : 11:11:43
I would say the batter should be awarded 1st base as the ball was "Out of Play".
bigroc19 Posted - 03/02/2018 : 10:30:31
Dead ball..batter advance to 1st
ChinMusic Posted - 03/02/2018 : 09:47:18
Dead ball... Base runners get 1 base; batter gets 1st

Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA © 2000-22 NWBA Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000