Sponsorship
Opportunities

Sponsored Links
LolaBird Bedsheet Fundraising
Cherokee Batting Range
Dingers Athletics
Georgia Stars
Georgia Jackets
Georgia USSSA Baseball
Georgia Bombers Baseball Club
Forsyth Grizzlies - Georgia Octane
Quick Links
Cooperstown
Tournaments
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA Links
To Indexes

Cooperstown
Tournaments
Join NWBA Team Insurance
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 NWBA Forums
 Ump's Corner
 GHSA 6A playoff Umpire's call sends J.C. Home?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

TxHookEm

8 Posts

Posted - 05/19/2017 :  08:59:50  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Johns Creek/Lee County Game to be Appealed Friday
Baseball
Citing inappropriate conduct by the umpires at the end of regulation play, Johns Creek High School officials have appealed the ruling of GHSA Executive Director Gary Phillips that Wednesday night’s 5-3 extra-inning loss to Lee County must stand as played.
GHSA counsel Alan Connell has ruled that the appeal can go forward, so a four-member Appeal Board will convene at the GHSA office in Thomaston Friday morning at 9:30 a.m., to hear the Johns Creek case.
The controversy arose during the seventh inning of the second game of the Class 6A semifinal doubleheader in Leesburg Wednesday. Lee County won the first game 7-4, but Johns Creek appeared to even the series at one game apiece when the Gladiators received a bases-loaded walk with the score tied 3-3 in the bottom of the seventh inning of the second game.
Lee County coach Brandon Brock approached the umpires with the contention that the Johns Creek runner on second base had not completed the play by touching third base. After a lengthy discussion, the umpires ruled that Brock was correct and, therefore, the winning run was disallowed.
The game then proceeded into extra innings and Lee County won 5-3 to apparently sweep the series 2-0 and advance to next week’s state championship.
https://www.ghsa.net/johns-creeklee-county-game-be-appealed-friday

TxHookEm

8 Posts

Posted - 05/19/2017 :  09:27:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The following rule does not address a walk off walk but rather a walk off via a hit. The rule could be easily applied to a walk off walk scenario.

From the "umpire bible" and NOT from the GHSA rule book

Runner fails to advance on game-winning hit — 5.08(b)
I've placed this item following the section on abandonment because the two are close cousins. This scenario, which you'll typically see in only lower levels of ball (the older guys usually know better), in some respects amounts to abandoning an effort to advance, albeit in a very specific situation. I'll explain.
The specific situation we're talking about is the walk-off. That is, it's the last half of the final inning (either regualation game or extra innings) where there is the potential for a game-ending hit. Let's say, for example, that you have a tie game, home team at bat, fewer that two outs, and a runner on third. Any hit (almost any hit) wins the game. Okay, so the batter gets the hit – a little blooper over the shortstop's head, let's say. Game over, right? WRONG.
The game is not over until two things happen: (1) The batter-runner must touch first base, and (2) the runner on third must touch home. To be clear, the winning run must actually reach and touch home plate, and the batter-runner must complete his at-bat by acquiring first base. In the case of a walk-off home run, the batter-runner must round the bases and score.
Here's what happens if these two requirements are not met:
With fewer than two outs, if the runner on third base fails to advance and touch home "in a reasonable time," the umpire should call that runner out, disallow the run, and direct that the game be resumed.
With two outs, if the batter-runner fails to touch first base, the umpire should call the batter-runner out, disallow any run(s) that may have scored, and direct that the game be resumed.
With fewer than two outs, if the batter-runner fails to touch first base, the batter-runner is called out, but the run will count if a runner reaches and touches home.
Go to Top of Page

CaCO3Girl

1989 Posts

Posted - 05/19/2017 :  10:36:54  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This is being talked about on the high school board...this is what a poster there had to say:

Per 2012 NFHS Rules Interp:

SITUATION 18: In the bottom of the eighth inning, the score is tied, with the bases loaded and two outs. B6 draws a walk and runs and touches first base. B1 trots in from third and touches home plate. B2, however, begins celebrating and never touches third base. RULING: All runners must legally touch the next base in advancing. If the defense legally appeals while at least one umpire is still on the field of play, B2 is declared out for the third out. Since this out would be a “force” out, no runs would score and the game would continue into the ninth inning. (8-2-1, 8-2-6j, 9-1-1a and d)

Umpires got it correct.
Go to Top of Page

ChinMusic

126 Posts

Posted - 05/19/2017 :  12:55:56  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
WOW, what a tough way to lose a game. Haven't seen that one.
Go to Top of Page

in_the_know

985 Posts

Posted - 05/19/2017 :  17:12:52  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
As CaCO stated, umps appear to be correct. Also, much like the balk rule (dead ball call in HS, Live ball in other levels), this particular rule differs from MLB which only require that the batter runner and scoring runner touch up. There is no requirement that 1b runner and 2b runner touch up at MLB level.

From the "2017 NFHS Baseball Rules Book":

When the winning run is scored in the last half of a regulation game, or in the last half of an extra inning, as the result of a base on balls, hit batter or any other play with the bases loaded which forces the runner on third base to advance, the umpire shall not declare the game over until all runners have advanced to the next base.
Go to Top of Page

TxHookEm

8 Posts

Posted - 05/20/2017 :  18:46:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
There's a link to a video on GHSA's website showing the walk in question and the runner from second touching third base. Because the call was "judgement call", the video is not admissible evidence. Personally, I hope the GHSA board does the right thing, watch the video and get these boys back on the field for a deciding game three.

My son's coach said the umpire crew of the Lee Co. - J. Creek series was also scheduled to call the championship game. I'm 100% confident these guys won't be back on the field calling a GHSA in 2017. Seems like w/a four man crew one ump would have seen the kid touch 3B.
Go to Top of Page

TxHookEm

8 Posts

Posted - 05/22/2017 :  12:08:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
THOMASTON, Ga. -- The GHSA Board of Trustees accepted Johns Creek baseball's final appeal of a ruling that overturned their semifinals win, and a game three will be played.

The Board met on Monday morning to hear Johns Creek's final appeal against GHSA Executive Director Gary Phillips' ruling that the umpires made a judgment call when a base runner did not touch third base while the winning run was walked in. Because Phillips maintains the ruling is a judgment call, it is not reviewable and cannot be appealed. Johns Creek appealed Phillips' decision as executive director.

A majority vote by the board (5-2) was needed to overturn Phillips' decision and appeal the umpires' ruling, which had eliminated Johns Creek from the playoffs. Johns Creek received what they were asking for, which is a decisive game three against Lee County. That game will now be played Wednesday at 5:30 pm at Lee County.

GHSA confirmed to 11Alive that the umpire crew was removed for any further assignments in the postseason. However, they would not comment on the reason because of their "independent status."

Source:WXIA
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA © 2000-22 NWBA Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000