Sponsored Links
Georgia Stars
Georgia Jackets
Forsyth Grizzlies - Georgia Octane
Cherokee Batting Range
Flush Baseball
Team Insurance
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 NWBA Forums
 General Discussion
 Correct ruling to strange scenario
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

greenmonsta

16 Posts

Posted - 05/29/2018 :  09:52:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ok, here’s is the scenario-
Bases loaded 1 out. Batter hits a line drive to left field. The left fielder appears to make the catch and is transferring the ball to try and double off the runner at third. He drops the ball and the field umpire rules that it was never a catch. The runner on third had been heading back to third, he tags up(not that he needs to now based on the call) and scores.
The batter went into the dugout because he thought it was a catch. The runners that were on first and 2nd remain on their respective bags. What is the correct ruling for score, number of outs, and runner positions?

Gatravelbaseball

56 Posts

Posted - 05/29/2018 :  11:51:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Don't have enough info!

Did the defense get the ball to first base and/or second base and/or third base to get two force outs before the batter/runners got there? If so, no run scores and the inning is over.

Edited by - Gatravelbaseball on 05/29/2018 14:34:59
Go to Top of Page

bama21

278 Posts

Posted - 05/29/2018 :  13:37:09  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I would say run scores, the batter is out (out of the baseline), the other runners should be out (well, at least one of them, which makes 3 outs) because if the ball was ruled "no catch", then they would have been forced to run.
Go to Top of Page

greenmonsta

16 Posts

Posted - 05/29/2018 :  16:04:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Defense got the ball to any base as they were confused. Here is what I got from another forum.
Once the batter-runner, goes into the dugout he’s out for abandonment. This removes the force on the other runners. So it’s 2 outs, and runners are placed wherever they ended up.
Go to Top of Page

Vandy

36 Posts

Posted - 05/29/2018 :  16:30:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
In order... Batter gets an rbi and is out, runs scores. LF gets E7. Since the batter left the field and was legally out prior to reaching first, there is no longer a force in play. All runners safe unless tagged out.
Go to Top of Page

bama21

278 Posts

Posted - 05/30/2018 :  09:38:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If that is the rule, it makes no sense.

So, if there is a runner on first and the hitter hits a ground ball to an infielder and it is for sure going to be a double play, then the hitter should (per this rule) just go sit down in the dugout and it would only be one out instead of two.

I would love to see that scenario play out, the opposing coach would come unglued.
Go to Top of Page

bama21

278 Posts

Posted - 05/30/2018 :  10:29:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Also, how can the batter get an RBI when an error is charged to the fielder.
Go to Top of Page

bballman

1432 Posts

Posted - 05/30/2018 :  10:40:48  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Vandy

In order... Batter gets an rbi and is out, runs scores. LF gets E7. Since the batter left the field and was legally out prior to reaching first, there is no longer a force in play. All runners safe unless tagged out.



Batter does not get an RBI when there is an error on the play.
Go to Top of Page

Vandy

36 Posts

Posted - 05/30/2018 :  12:57:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
"Batter does not get an RBI when there is an error on the play."

"Man on third with one out when a fly ball is hit to left field. The left fielder drops the ball and the runner on third scores. How to you score the play?"

If the official scorer thinks that the runner would have scored on a sacrifice fly if the ball had been caught then this would be a sacrifice fly with an error on the left fielder that allowed the batter to reach first (SF7 and E7). Rule 10.08(d)(2)

As addressed within Rule 9.02(a)(1) of the Official Baseball Rules a sacrifice fly is not counted as a time at bat for the batter, though the batter is credited with a run batted in.

As far as the batter / runner, he is out for desertion rule 7.0,xx


Edited by - Vandy on 05/30/2018 14:29:48
Go to Top of Page

Gatravelbaseball

56 Posts

Posted - 05/30/2018 :  13:27:05  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by bballman

quote:
Originally posted by Vandy

In order... Batter gets an rbi and is out, runs scores. LF gets E7. Since the batter left the field and was legally out prior to reaching first, there is no longer a force in play. All runners safe unless tagged out.



Batter does not get an RBI when there is an error on the play.



It is possible for a batter to get an RBI when there is an error on the play, but only if the run would have likely scored even if the error had not been made. In this case, it seems doubtful the batter should get an RBI. And since he somehow managed to get all the way into the dang dugout before realizing the ump didn't call him out, I wouldn't give him one either way!
Go to Top of Page

bballman

1432 Posts

Posted - 05/30/2018 :  14:35:05  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Vandy

"Batter does not get an RBI when there is an error on the play."

"Man on third with one out when a fly ball is hit to left field. The left fielder drops the ball and the runner on third scores. How to you score the play?"

If the official scorer thinks that the runner would have scored on a sacrifice fly if the ball had been caught then this would be a sacrifice fly with an error on the left fielder that allowed the batter to reach first (SF7 and E7). Rule 10.08(d)(2)

As addressed within Rule 9.02(a)(1) of the Official Baseball Rules a sacrifice fly is not counted as a time at bat for the batter, though the batter is credited with a run batted in.

As far as the batter / runner, he is out for desertion rule 7.0,xx





I stand corrected...
Go to Top of Page

baseballready

188 Posts

Posted - 05/31/2018 :  09:18:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Not clear that runner would have scored as "batter hits a line drive to left field....The runner on third had been heading back to third..."

I'm not going to score Sac Fly on a rope to LF that may have gotten the baserunner doubled up.

Edited by - baseballready on 05/31/2018 09:29:58
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Georgia Travel Baseball - NWBA © 2000-22 NWBA Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000