Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

steviejayw

13 Posts

Posted - 03/09/2012 :  11:11:14  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Long time reader, first time poster.

OK. Here's the scenario.
I am a head coach for a 5/6 rec league team. Our league allows 3 locks and we have a draft after a quick player evaluation.

I locked my son (1B) , and my assistant coaches sons P and 2B. I took care of the right side of the infield because in 5/6 thats where most outs come from. All 3 hit well, and are probable all-stars.
The draft is where it gets interesting. We rate players 1-4 stars. My first 3 picks were my 'locked' players, so every team would have a shot at the better players. My 4th pick was the last remaining 3 star player. So now I have 2 4's and 2 3's. On my 7th and 8th picks, I selected a pair of twins that were rated 2 stars. They could not come to the evaluation, so they were given a default rating based on experience and age. Well, as it turns out, the twins' rating would have been more accurate if they were rated 4 stars.
To add to this...some of my 1 and 2 stars are starting to 'get it' and they are getting better...fast.
Now I am hearing from people around the league that we have stacked our team. We haven't even played a game yet, and all kinds of negative remarks are being thrown my way. Believe me when I tell you that I am humble in my demeanor, and I concentrate on teaching the kids the game. All of the kids are having fun, and are improving. I have been explaining to a few people that will listen that I evaluated the kids, and picked the available kids that I thought were undervalued at the evaluation, and seemed coachable.

I am sure this scenario is not uncommon, but it is the first time I have been through this. This is my first year as a head coach, after a few years of being an assistant. Any insight you guys can give me will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Stevie

sicemdawgs

25 Posts